segunda-feira, 15 de agosto de 2016

Suncokret - Moje Bube 1977

The band was formed in 1975 by former Zajedno member Bora Đorđević (vocals and acoustic guitar), a former U Cvetu Mladosti member Nenad Božić (vocals and acoustic guitar) and female singers Snežana Jandrlić and Vesna Rakočević. After release of the single "Kara Mustafa", Vesna Rakočević left the band and joined Zdravo, and Bilja Krstić and Gorica Popović became new Suncokret members. At the half of 1976, they were joined by bass guitarist Bata Sokić.

The band released several successful singles, some of them inspired by traditional songs. In 1976, they appeared in Mića Milošević's film Tit for Tat, and some of their songs were used in the film. They performed at the 1976 BOOM Festival in Belgrade, and a live version of their song "Moj đerdane" ("(Oh) My Necklace") was released on the BOOM '76 live album.

Their debut album Moje bube (My Bugs) was released in 1977. Album featured previously released "Kara Mustafa" and "Moje tuge" ("My Sadnesses"), humorous songs "Vuk i krava" ("Wolf and Cow") and "Oglas" ("Ad") and ballads "Uspavanka" ("Lullaby"), "Ni sam ne znam kada" ("I Myself Don't Know When") and "Prvi sneg" ("First Snow"), the latter, written by Dušan Mihajlović "Spira", becoming one of Suncokret's signature songs. A live version of "Prvi sneg" was released on the BOOM '77 live album. After the album was released, keyboardist Duško Nikodijević and drummer Ljubinko Milošević became band's permanent members. In 1978, the band members refused to perform Đorđević's song "Lutka sa naslovne strane", so Đorđević and Biljana Krstić left the band and joined Rani Mraz, Đorđević remaining in Rani Mraz shortly and in 1979 forming hard rock band Riblja Čorba which will eventually become one of the top acts of the former Yugoslav rock scene.

Snežana Jandrlić continued to lead new, electricized Suncokret lineup, which featured Sokić, Nikodijević and former Tilt members Dušan "Duda" Bezuha (guitar) and Vladimir Golubović (drums). After Golubović and Bezuha left the band, bass guitarist Branko Isaković and drummer Ivan "Vd" Vdović became new Suncokret members, but after only two singles released, the band disbanded due to the members' discord.

listen here

Sem comentários: